Downloadable Documents

  • Oak Ridge Boys Receive 2012 James D. Vaughan Impact Award


PIGEON FORGE, Tenn.—The Oak Ridge Boys, one of the most award-winning groups in music history, will receive the 2012 James D. Vaughan Impact Award on Oct. 3 during a special ceremony at Dollywood during the Southern Gospel Music Association’s (SGMA) annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Singing News Fan Awards.

Group members Duane Allen, William Lee Golden, Richard Sterban and Joe Bonsall will be on hand to accept the award which is named in honor of James D. Vaughan, a Southern gospel music pioneer and one of the genre’s founders. Past recipients include Bill Gaither, James Blackwood, Les Beasley, Bob Brumley, Mosie Lister, Paul Heil, Eva Mae LeFevre, J.G. Whitfield, Lari Goss, Barbara Mandrell, The Statler Brothers and Dolly Parton.

"It is a huge honor for The Oak Ridge Boys to be presented with the James D. Vaughan Impact Award. Southern-style gospel music is the foundation of harmony, which is the sound of The Oak Ridge Boys,” Oak Ridge Boys lead singer Duane Allen said. “We all grew up loving the great gospel quartets and gospel music. We are very humbled to have been chosen to receive this award and look forward to its presentation at Dollywood on Oct. 3."

With a Southern gospel legacy that dates back to World War II, the original Oak Ridge Boys Quartet was based in Knoxville, Tenn., where the group began performing country and gospel music in nearby Oak Ridge. The current Oak Ridge Boys have been one of the music industry’s most popular groups since 1973, having won Grammy, Dove, Country Music Association (CMA) and Academy of Country Music Awards. The Oak Ridge Boys claimed the CMA’s Vocal Group of the Year Award in 1978 and the Grammy Award in 1982 for Best Vocal Performance by a Country Group or Duo for their smash hit “Elvira.” The Oak Ridge Boys joined the Grand Ole Opry in 2011.

The SGMA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony/Singing News Fan Awards take place Oct. 3 at DP’s Celebrity Theatre at Dollywood, home of the Southern Gospel Museum and Hall of Fame. Seating is reserved, and tickets are $75 ($55 for Dollywood season passholders) and include one-day Dollywood admission, parking and lunch as well as Dollywood’s more than 40 rides, shows and attractions. Tickets must be purchased in advance by calling the SGMA office at (865) 908-4040.

Groups scheduled to perform during the awards show include The Perrys, The Booth Brothers, Legacy Five, Triumphant Quartet, Greater Vision, Brian Free & Assurance, The Inspirations, Karen Peck & New River, Gold City and The McKameys.

The SGMA is a non-profit organization that maintains the Southern Gospel Museum and
Hall of Fame, the only facility honoring Southern gospel music and dedicated to the historic
preservation of the genre’s accomplishments, both for the music and the people. Museum hours
coincide with Dollywood’s operating schedule. Donations are tax-deductible. For more information
about the museum or its inductees, visit


Media: Contact Dollywood Public Relations Manager Pete Owens at 865-428-9486, 865-755-7972 or by email at for B-roll, photography and more information. Check the Dollywood Press Room at for updates and new images.